My Gratitude List — 11/03/2012

There are so many things I am thankful for and it’s hard to find any one big one other than the fact that God pulled me from death’s door once again and gave me a new heart and a life to life in a different way than ever before. I am thankful that I am on dialysis because it has given new purpose for the plan for my life. I am thankful for my family,and for the unlimited support they have given me. I am thankful for my children and now a beautiful granddaughter, who is part of my heart as I have never imagined.

My gratitude stretches very far and wide and connects to the golden thread that connects me to my Heavenly Father who blesses me every day.

Diabetic Redemption

I am grateful for so many things today, but let’s start with the big ones.

I give thanks that Barack Obama is president during the recent superstorm, rather than the opposing candidate, who has stated openly that he thinks he should do away with FEMA at the national level, and that he will expect states, and eventually private companies to provide those services if he is President.

View original post 611 more words

3 thoughts on “My Gratitude List — 11/03/2012

  1. harrietprince Post author

    Julia, I wanted to drop in to say hello and tell you how I enjoy your blog. It has so many wonderful things involved and you have done a great job developing it into a very well read place to go.

    I am grateful to have found you as a friend as well as one who can teach me much about blogging. On this day before Thanksgiving, I wanted to let you know that you are very precious to me and I am so interested in your journey. I am sure it is very therapeutic to write your thoughts and hope my blog will become the same for me as I go along and expand my thoughts. Love and prayers to you and the blessings you send my way. God bless you, my dear.

  2. harrietprince Post author

    I believe we have so much in common, too. As far as my heart. I have had at least 3 heart attacks; at least 2 in January, 1998, then found that I had two 100% blocked main heart arteries. Had to have open heart surgery the next day and wasn’t expected to make it, but I did, by the grace of God. He showed me that it was Him, because He took a 20 year smoking habit and all desire from me. It couldn’t have been anybody but Him.

    I am diagnosed with CAD, CHF, and I can’t think of the rest of the list right now. I’ll have to look it up.

    I was diagnosed with diabetes in 1988, and the neuropathy began immediately along with restless leg syndrome. It was and is miserable. The neuropathy is up both legs to my groin and both arms up to my elbows. Taking pain killers, OTC and prescription is what finally got my kidneys, My diabetes has been controlled for about 8 years. Except right now, it is reading higher because of the bad fall I had in July. My kidney doctor was in denial about my kidneys after he did so many tests on them. No biopsy, though. He didn’t see any reason for that.

    My CKD was really bad. When my Father died in 2008, the stress just tipped me over and into acute kidney failure, but the final straw didn’t break until February, 2010. I will tell you more about that a little later.

    I still can’t sit at the computer for more than a few minutes at a time, because of the infection in my back, also caused by my fall in July. I broke my wrist and then a few days later I woke up unable to move for the pain in my back. Went to PT, no help and I was begging to go to the hospital, in vain.

    Finally my nephrologist got angry and insisted on an MRI and the infection was found after over three months of agony. Had the orthopedic doctor had just listened to me, we may have caught it in time. The pain has left me nervous as a bird and I have stayed in so much except for dialysis and doctor visits that I have a hint of agoraphobia now. I can’t drive now for 7 years so a solution is hard to come by.

    I just keep on and on, don’t I? I do really have to go. I’m going to take a nap and see if I can warm up some.

    Be good and blessings to you, Judith. We will talk soon.

    “Blessed are the cracked, for they are the ones who let in the light”

    Jesus did not come to make Gods love possible, but to make Gods love visible unknown

    ________________________________

  3. judithatwood

    Hi, Harriet! Thanks for the reblog — I think that may become common between us. I am moved by your part of that post, and I think you are so genuine, I just hope people don’t take advantage of you. Also, I’ve had some funky heart measures taken, too, and I’d love to tell you mine, and to hear about yours. Blessings!

Comments are closed.