THE NONO SLEEVE AND OTHER THOUGHTS

Falling because of lack of balance, weakness, low blood pressure is something that plagues a lot of people with Chronic Kidney Disease because of the anemia that goes along with the disease.  I have found that I am particularly prone to falling.

So far, the bad damage is that one of my falls was back in 2008.  It left me with a severely torn rotator cuff that has caused my left arm to be paralyzed.  By the time I got in to see a surgeon, my fistula had been placed where else but in my left arm.  No surgery could be done, so I am left with that damage and pain.  It interferes with everything I do and prohibits me from a lot of independence with everyday things.

There have been many other falls.  I can’t get up when I fall because both of my knees are completely destroyed by arthritis and no cartilage remains, so I cannot get on my knees at all.  I have had to call medics to come and help me up when I have been alone, which is the case most of the time.

My fall on July 18 has been the worst yet.  I stood up to take my breakfast dish into the kitchen and I really don’t know what happened.  I wasn’t dizzy or any of the things mentioned earlier.  I just turned slightly and before I knew it, was on the floor in a peculiar position.  The pain in my left arm was unbearable and I could hardly move.  Finally, someway I got to the phone and called 911 and a big red fire truck pulled up in front of my house.  Four big strong firemen came in and got me up and sat me in my chair.  They offered to take me to the hospital, but thinking I was going to be alright, thanked them and then they were gone.

It wasn’t long before I knew I had made a big mistake.  My wrist would not stop hurting and I couldn’t move it, it was swelling and I said it was sprained.  After going to the Orthopedic after hours care, found out that it was broken.  A cast could not be placed on it because of my fistula, so a brace was made and then wrapped with a cloth elastic bandage to stabilize my wrist for six weeks.

On August 1, I awoke with a terrible pain in my back.  It was all over my back.  I could barely move and couldn’t stop the vocal moans with every movement.  This lasted over three months.  The worst pain I think I have ever suffered.  I went to PT with no relief and nothing else was presented as a solution.  Finally my nephrologist became very angry that an MRI was not done.  And by that time with a headache every moment and my nerves shattered because of the unrelenting pain with every move I made had become the knot at the end of my rope.

My appointment with the orthopedic doctor was the next day and I told him of my nephrologist’s anger and an MRI was arranged immediately the next Saturday morning.  My phone rang early on Monday morning, but I was in dialysis and listened to the message on the answering machine, telling me that it was urgent that I have a blood test immediately for an infection was found in my spine.  URGENT was the word I heard the loudest, so I raced over to his office, got the papers and then to the hospital to get the blood test.

It was an infection in the thoracic part of my spine, probably from the fall.  I was then referred to the hospital for a biopsy of the fluid around the disc and a chip of the bone to see if it had gotten into the bone. It wasn’t a pleasant experience.

Well, now I am on an IV antibiotic which if the dosage has to be tested regularly because if it is not monitored and being on dialysis, there is a possibility of losing my hearing, of all things.  I will continue the treatment until December 18.  I have to go back to the Infectious Disease Consultants the last week of November for another MRI to see if the infection is cleared.

I still have a lot of pain in my back and can only stand for no more than 5 minutes at a time, but am feeling better in that the headache is finally gone and I feel better in more ways, especially emotionally.

I say all that to say this….Please take your time standing up.  Wait until any dizzy feelings leave before you move.  It won’t take but a few extra seconds to a minute, but will allow you to be steady when you move a foot to walk.  Anything you can do to ensure your not falling is a benefit, not a detriment to your safety.  I use my quad-cane all the time now and never go anywhere without it.  A walker is wonderful too, if you are unsteady or have low blood pressure.  Your safety is all important.  I can tell you that staying off the grassy ground and staying on the sidewalk or driveway is going to help you stay upright and healthy.

 

2 thoughts on “THE NONO SLEEVE AND OTHER THOUGHTS

  1. harrietprince Post author

    No it’s not Levaquin. I took that for a sinus infection once and in three daysI had the very rare reaction, where the drug attacked my long bones. I could not move from my bed. I called the doctor and he said that was not possible. But he called me back after looking it up in his medical book and told menot to take another pill…toget rid of them and put that drug on my allergy list.

    This is a miacin drug, but can cause permanent hearing loss too. I have to have the level in my blood checked every week to make sure I’m not taking too much.

    ”Blessed are the cracked, for they are the ones who let in the light”

    Jesus did not come to make Gods love possible, but to make Gods love visible unknown

    ________________________________

  2. judithatwood

    Oh, honey, I am so sorry you have had these problems with falling. I went through a period of time about 3 years ago when my adrenal system was dysfunctional, so I would get no warning for insulin reactions, and would often fall right where I stood. Steroids helped to remedy that.

    Is the IV antibiotic Leviquin, by any chance? I can’t have Leviquin any more, because the few times I’ve had IV Leviquin, I quickly went deaf. Fortunately, I got some of my hearing back each time, but a little less than I had before. Please do be careful — I know that feeling, when you know you’re falling, but can’t stop yourself. I do hope you are feeling better soon!

Comments are closed.