Commenting on this blog is hard, because 1. I am a dialysis patient 2. I understand how hard it is to work exercise into our days. But as I understand it just 10 minutes a day will make a difference. Stretching in the bed before getting up is a valuable tool. It gets your legs ready to step onto the floor. If I don’t do this, it is hard for me to walk because of the arthritis. Even walking around in the house and doing things as you come too them is exercise. I have a borrowed recumbent bike that I use. Chair exercises are easy and very good for those who cannot move readily.
We have to try, we have to keep up some type of program to keep us limber and keep our joints from freezing up on us. Exercise is vital in dialysis. It and the renal diet keeps our bodies from turning to mush. Having had no exercise in 5 months because of my pain level in my back, really shows on me. It’s harder to breathe, I can’t move fast because breathing becomes labored.
Just 10 minutes a day, or several times a day will improve our flexibility and keep our lungs healthy.

Bob Northam

Bob Here

Some things in life are just not meant to co-exist.

A plaid jacket and striped dress shirt. (Okay, who’s been peeking in my wardrobe??)

Twinkies and mustard.

Democrats and Republicans in Congress.

Exercise and dialysis.

On that last one, let’s face it. Keeping up an exercise routine when you’re on dialysis is not easy. Forgetting about the time constraints of a dialysis lifestyle, the treatments themselves don’t exactly make us want to jump out of our chairs and assault the nearest elliptical machine.

On the one hand, I think all dialysis patients will acknowledge that it’s important for us to stay physically active. The benefits are well documented, and are especially imperative for people who have to be stationary in a chair for long periods of time.

On the other hand, dialysis treatments have a tendency to sap much of our strength and make us feel rotten to…

View original post 1,467 more words

