Dialysis Buttons for your Buttonholes

This is the first I have heard about the plugs. I wonder if the infection rate is higher using these since the sites are open all the time.

I use the blunts for removing my scabs because they have a removal tool covering the needle itself. I don’t particularly like them because of the sharpness causes difficulty in lifting the scab out completely, but would never be able to use a sharp to do the job. My hat is off to you for that feat. Good health to you and yours and stay positive always.

Big D and Me

In my last post, I mentioned that it is becoming more common for units to get people started with buttonholing by inserting a plug into each needle hole for a couple of weeks so that buttonhole and tunnel formation are accelerated.  I met with Anna Flynn, a very experienced practitioner of this technique last week to get the whole story. As you know, I am a big proponent of buttonholing (using the same needle holes for each dialysis session) for several reasons. 

View original post 941 more words

